Released February 1 2014
Re-released June 28 2019
CD: £12.99 | MP3: £7.99 | FLAC: £8.99


Danserye features music from Michael Wolters’ 2013 collaboration with choreographer Sebastian Matthias. Their hugely successful production was based on Thielmann Susatoʼs collection of dances of the same name from 1550, and has been performed over twenty five times in Germany, Switzerland, Belgium and the Netherlands. The ensemble line-up is recorder, clarinet, guitar and violin; sometimes the score is close to the original Susato music (for example in Mille Regretz), sometimes far away (Quartet doesnʼt use any of the original material). The folk roots of the original pieces, written for ordinary people to dance to, are reflected in both the score and in the choice of musicians, all of whom are experienced in playing folk music.